Simple-As-It-Gets Edamame

Standard

Recently I made an edamame soup (which I so highly recommend!). This week, however, I decided I wanted to buy the unshelled edamame and cook it that way. I’d heard it was a really good snack, and I’d heard right! It’s so fun to experiment with a food that’s almost totally brand new to me! Austin and I liked this stuff and our little Chinese “son” was happy to finish it off during our movie night!

Ingredients

unshelled edamame

salt

Directions and Notes

1. Bring salted water to a boil.

2. When the water is at a full rolling boil, add the edamame pods and boil for 5-7 minutes until the edamame is at the level of doneness that you like.

3. Drain the edamame and put it on a plate.

4. Salt generously.

5. To eat, hold the pod sideways and squeeze along one side. The seeds will pop out easily into your mouth. Discard the outer shells.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Japan-Themed Date | EmbracingChina

Leave a Reply

